Class Cancelled

I did my BEd at a small Catholic university. The program came highly recommended. I had my BSc from a much larger university and figured there was some merit to having experience at a different institution.

A friend who had graduated from the program told me I should take Father T’s Philosophy Of Education course.

Is it a good course”, I asked.

It’s okay, he does a good job, but every time there’s a related funeral mass you’ll get the class off.”

I signed up for the course.

It was true.

Occasionally we would arrive for a Monday morning class and there would be a note on the door.

Dear students, I am terribly sorry but class is cancelled today.

I’ll be attending a funeral this morning.

Other times, a class would end and Father T would say, “I’m terribly sorry but Friday’s class is going to be cancelled. I have a funeral mass to attend.”

When he told us this he was genuinely apologetic. It was obvious that he was torn between two loyalties whenever he delivered this message.

One time, and I think I was speaking on behalf of the class, I said, “It’s okay Father. It’s where you should be. No need to worry.”

I wonder how Plato felt when Socrates cancelled a class. Do you suppose he slept in? That may have been part of his method.

Follow W5education.wordpress.com for stories every Friday

Leave a comment