Sing Me a Song

My grandson was born twenty-eight months ago. Since his birth I have made a point of spending time with him every calendar week.

When I first held him in my arms I welcomed him to the world and told him a number of things. I also sang him Raffi’s song, Willoughby Wallaby Woo:

Willoughby Wallaby waimie, an elephant sat on Jamie

Willoughby Wallaby wop, an elephant sat on Pop

From that point on I would regularly sing that song to him. At one point my daughter said, “Dad, I think it’s time to change up the repertoire.” I didn’t disagree. Of course I would sing other songs to him but I always included a few versus of Raffi’s tune:

Willoughby Wallaby waddy, an elephant sat on Daddy

Willoughby Wallaby wummy, an elephant sat on Mommy

Five weeks ago he and I were sitting on the floor playing with his train set. I started to sing:

“Willoughby Wallaby waimie, an elephant sat on ……”

He looked up at me and said, “Jamie.”

I continued, “Willoughby Wallaby wop, an elephant sat on …..”

“Pop”

I was so pleased. My plan worked. My investment paid off.

Five weeks ago I held my new granddaughter in my arms for the first time. Do you want to guess what song I first sang to her?

Follow W5education.wordpress.com for stories every Friday

One thought on “Sing Me a Song

Leave a Reply

