Mother’s Day

I would usually remind my students when Mother’s Day was approaching and encouraged them to take the time to say thank-you.

Now you can buy your mother some chocolates or flowers or, perhaps, make her breakfast in bed. That would be nice. But if you want to give her a gift that costs you nothing but will be valued by your mother more than any box of chocolates or Hallmark card, this is what I suggest you do.

On Sunday, look into her eyes and say the following words, ‘Mom, while I often don’t show it I want you to know that I appreciate all that you have done for me. Thank you for being my mother. I love you’.

Then take her in your arms and give her a hug and a kiss. I guarantee that she will cherish that moment forever.

A few weeks after Mother’s Day, 1990, I was in a parking lot and heard my name called. I turned and recognized the mother of one of my students.

Mr. Caines, I want to thank you. My son told me what you said, and on Mother’s Day he did exactly as you suggested. It was the best Mother’s Day gift I have ever received.”

I wonder if over the years other students took my advice.

Happy Mother’s Day

Follow W5education.wordpress.com for stories every Friday

Leave a Reply

