This Little Light of Mine – Part II

When my children were young I started taking interest in elementary school science. I was curious to know how the subject was taught and what topics were covered.

As my knowledge grew, I developed a number of science presentations suitable for grades 2-5. For several years the superintendent granted me a number of release days so that I could visit area schools and present my activities to students and teachers.

My very first visit was to a grade 2 class. This particular school had implemented a school-wide thinking strategies program. I knew that the children would be familiar with the term observation and what it meant to observe. One of my goals was to reinforce the understanding that everything we learn in life we do so by using the five senses: hearing, seeing, feeling, smelling and tasting. I also wanted them to appreciate that sometimes we need to make more than one observation before forming a conclusion. The night before my visit I prepared a “candle” by coring out a potato.

It was my very first time working with such a young class. I think it went well but when I ate the candle I am not sure one of the little boys didn’t wet himself. It was not the reaction I was looking for.

But the best part of this story was to come several years later.

                                                                                                   To be continued ……………

Follow W5education.wordpress.com for stories every Friday

Leave a Reply

