Choosing the Right Word

When my son and daughter were young I couldn’t tell their voices apart on the phone. I didn’t want to ask them which one I was talking to so I taught them the word sibling.

Hello”

Hi, it’s Dad checking in. How are you?”

Good.”

I can’t tell which one it is.

What are you doing?”

I’m just doing my homework.”

I still don’t know which one it is.

What is your sibling doing?”

I’m not sure. He’s in his bedroom.”

Nailed it – it was my daughter on the phone. I could then start calling her by name.

I don’t know how many preteens know the word sibling but I am glad my kids did.

Follow W5education.wordpress.com for stories every Friday

Leave a Reply

