Lost in Translation – Part 2

Lost in Translation – Part 2

……….. continued

I took Ji-hu aside and explained to him the significance of saying, Jesus. I told him that many would find it offensive and suggested that he not say it. His jaw dropped. He apologized several times.

You know, Ji-hu, there is another expression that kind of means the same thing but is not offensive.”

Ah, what is that?”

In a circumstance like this, many might say Jeepers Creepers.’”

Ah, Jeepers Creepers.”

As soon as he spoke the words I realized that I made a mistake going down this road. I don’t know what I was thinking.

Actually, Ji-hu, the more I think about it, that is more of a little boy expression. It is probably not a good choice. Please forget I said that.”

Several weeks later arrangements were made to take the grade 11 and 12 students to a post-secondary symposium in the city. Students would board buses after home-room and would be gone for most of the day. The day before the symposium Ji-hu approached me and asked if he could take his mother’s car and drive directly from home to the symposium. His home was significantly closer to the symposium site than the school. He was of the impression that the event was for the entire day.

I asked, “If you were to do that, would you drive back here for period 5?”

Is it not for the entire day?”, he asked.

No. The intention is to have everyone back here for their last class.”

This obviously caught him off-guard. His hope was to simply return home after the symposium was over. He looked down at the symposium schedule he was holding in his hands. It confirmed that its duration was not for the entire school day.

He looked up at me, “Ah, Jeepers Creepers.”

Oh no, I thought to myself. What had I created?

Follow W5education.wordpress.com for stories every Wednesday and Friday

Leave a Reply

