Telephone Surveys – Part II

Telephone Surveys – Part 2

If you haven’t read my previous post then you should before reading this one (it’s short).

Of the 59 survey callers, 8 declined to take my survey; consequently, I did not participate in their survey. They usually said that they couldn’t take my survey but one said that she didn’t have time. I explained that I only had 4 questions but once they declined they never changed their mind.

So, here are the facts as determined by my survey of the 51 surveyors who participated:

  • 71% of the callers were female

  • Tuesdays and Wednesdays were the most popular days

  • 57% said that they had been doing the job for more than 6 months with another 20 % being on the job for between 4 weeks and 6 months.

  • 55% said that they were satisfied with the job and 35% said they were very satisfied

  • 47% reported that they hoped to be doing something else in 6 months

Here are the numbers for Highest Level of Education achieved:

  • Less than grade 12, 10%

  • High School grad, 10%

  • Some Post-secondary, 49%

  • University Degree, 16%

  • College Certificate, 14%

  • Masters Degree, 2%

It is interesting to note that on only two occasions did the person ask me why I was conducting my survey. Most seemed keen to get to their questions and did so immediately after I finished my interview. I wonder if they received a financial incentive for each completed survey and, therefore, were in a hurry to get to the next caller.

I have often heard it said that the calls tend to come into our homes during meal time. I suppose it depends on what time you dine. My earliest call was received at 3:00 PM with the latest being 9:30 PM. The median time was 6:30 PM.

Twice I have been interviewed by the local C.B.C. Radio station regarding my survey. That’s kind of cool.

Over the years a few people have said, “Why would you even bother?” I suppose my answer is the same reason I like to start up conversations with strangers, I usually learn something new.

Anyway, there you have it. My research continues.

Follow W5education.wordpress.com for stories every Wednesday and Friday

Leave a Reply

