Discovering the World

Discovering the World

When children are born they are entirely dependant on their care-givers. As parents, we control how our children discover the world, but as they grow older and become more independent they start to make their own discoveries. In some cases, those discoveries are incongruent with what they have learned at home.

When our children were toddlers we bought our orange juice in concentrated form. The directions on the can said to add three parts water to the volume of concentrate. I found that to be too rich; besides, we were a single income family and I wanted to save money where I could. When I made the juice I added 5 to 51/2 parts water. I agree, it was watered down but the kids didn’t know any different. That was life as they knew it.

When our daughter was five she had her first sleep-over. It was the first of many with one of her childhood friends who lived a few doors down. I didn’t anticipate the consequences.

One of the first questions she asked following her return was, “Why does juice taste so much better at Jamie’s?”

Oh no, my juice preparation procedures were about to be uncovered. “Well dear, I suspect that Jamie’s mother doesn’t add as much water as I do when she mixes juice.”

It tastes so good. Can our juice taste that good?”

Well, yes, I suppose so; however, the directions on the can are really just guidelines. You don’t HAVE to follow them. It’s not like there are juice police out there checking to see that I follow the directions.”

I would like our juice to be as good as Jamie’s.”

Well, I’m not making any promises but perhaps I will add less water. I’ll tell you what, how about you make the next pitcher of juice?”

Of course, after she did so and left the kitchen I added more water.

Our grandson is now sixteen months old. I wonder if in a few years he will ask his mother, “Mom, why does our juice taste so much better than Pop and Nana’s?”

Actually, now that I think about it, perhaps I will prepare the juice exactly as suggested by the directions. After all, he is my grandson.

Follow W5education.wordpress.com for stories every Wednesday and Friday.

One thought on “Discovering the World

  1. Wow! The Caines brothers are even more alike than I thought. To this day, Dad waters down his juice and we always think it’s so gross. He also makes “swamp water” which is a combination of various liquid beverages from the fridge. He used to use the “single income household” excuse and has now switched to “I’m a pensioner. I’m on a fixed income!”

    Like

Leave a Reply

