A Balanced Diet

A Balanced Diet

It was my wife’s dream to become a veterinarian but we fell in love in university, later became engaged and after I completed my BEd we were married. We decided to follow my career and start a family. That seemed like the end of her dream; well, the veterinarian part anyway.

Now I could milk this story for an additional 300-400 words but let’s fast forward to September 1997. She had been accepted into the Doctor of Veterinary Medicine Program at the Atlantic Vet. College. It is a 3 and 1/2 hour drive from our home to the college so she wasn’t home during the week. She made it home, for at least one night, most weekends. The kids were eleven and thirteen and I was starting my first full year as a principal. It was four years I would not like to experience again; however, I had to support her in the pursuit of her life-long dream. I also ended up bonding with my children in ways that probably would not have happened otherwise.

One of my responsibilities, of course, was to see that the kids had a balanced diet. I should point out that while I enjoy eating, I take no pleasure in the preparation of meals. It is a necessary function but one of my goals was to spend as little time as possible in the kitchen. I developed a very close relationship with the microwave.

For many evenings, we we in a rush. The kids were active in a number of activities and I had several responsibilities that could easily fill up any extra time I had. Consequently, on many nights I would simply microwave something and open a can of some vegetable. Odd looking salads were not uncommon.

I soon became concerned that, perhaps, the kids were not getting a balanced diet. Not wanting to be guilty of being a neglectful parent I decided to take action. I dropped in on a local pharmacy and asked to speak to a pharmacist.

I am in the market for multivitamins. Would you point out the brand you would most recommend?”

He handed me a small bottle from the display and explained why he preferred that particular brand. It sounded good to me.

He added, “However, as long as your children are getting a balanced diet, there is really no need to supplement with vitamins.”

I agreed and then said, “Thank you. I will take the largest bottle you have.”

I was continuing down the road of guilt-free parenting.

“The only time to eat diet food is while you’re waiting for the steak to cook.”
— Julia Child

Follow W5education.wordpress.com for stories every Wednesday and Friday.

2 thoughts on “A Balanced Diet

  1. Or the time you made lasagna, I think it was lasagna….. and you used ALLSPICE thinking you had all the bases covered with spices from 1 bottle? I often think of that when I see an allspice label.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  2. Hi Anne: actually, I think it was corn chowder. I would never attempt to make lasagna. But I also found out that tomato paste and tomato sauce were not the same thing. Also, there was a time when I could explain the difference between baking soda and baking powder.

    Like

Leave a Reply

