Hit the Nail on the Head

Hit the Nail on the Head

One weekend morning my son and I were sitting at the kitchen table. He was four years old at the time and seated across from me. At one point he pushed back from the table and was attempting to balance on the back two legs of his chair.

Son, please don’t do that. You’re apt to fall backwards and hurt yourself.” He stopped.

A few moments later, he did it again.

PLEASE don’t do that. If you fall backwards you are going to HURT YOURSELF.” He stopped.

But didn’t he do it again. I stared at him, but before I spoke he pushed too far and fell backwards. The chair hit the floor and his head bounced off the back of the chair. This was a classic case of I told you so.

I checked to see if he did any serious damage to himself. He checked out; however, the chair did not fare so well. One of the large spindles had severed from the base of the chair. GREAT – now I have a broken chair.

I took a closer look at the damage. As it turned out, the spindle was located directly over the chair leg beneath it. I figured the best fix was to drill up into the spindle and down into the leg and insert a metal rod. Hopefully that would work.

I took the chair to the basement and replaced it with a miss-matched one. Now, where to find a suitable length of metal to facilitate the repair. I figured I could go into the iron-works shop in the city to pick something up but I wasn’t in any hurry.

About a week later, I was in a hardware store to pick up some supplies for another chore. Before I left I thought, perhaps they might have something here to do the fix on the chair. I approached one of the staff.

Excuse me, by chance would you happen to have an iron or metal rod about 8 inches in length? It would be nice if it were pointed at one end.”

Yeah, right over here.” He walked over to the wall and reached into a plastic bin and pulled out an object. He handed it to me and said, “We call them spikes.”

Man, did I ever feel stupid. It was exactly what I was looking for. All I had to do was saw the head off and I was good to go.

I am so thankful that I didn’t go in with a drawing and said, “Hey, do you have anything that looks like this?”

Follow W5education.wordpress.com for stories every Wednesday and Friday.

Leave a Reply

