Sex on the Playground?

Sex on the Playground?

A few posts ago I made reference to Lana (Grapes of Wrath? – June 10). She was in my grade 2 class at Leatherbarrow Primary.

It was a beautiful fall afternoon and the noontime break was over. The children were coming in from the playground and making their way to their respective classrooms. One of the duty teachers approached me and said, “You need to talk to Lana.”

“Oh? What’s up?”

“She just proclaimed in the hallway that she had sex with Robbie on the playground.”

“Really? Like sex sex?

“I doubt it but you need to deal with this.”

As the children were settling in I asked Lana to meet me at my desk.

“Lana, I’ve been told that you said you had sex with Robbie on the playground. Is that true?”

“Yes. I did.”

“Is it true? Did you have sex with Robbie?”

“Yes I did”

“Where did this happen?”

“Behind the playhouse.”

I suddenly had a mental picture of Lana and Robbie doing the nasty behind the wooden structure. I quickly divorced the image from my mind.

“Please tell me exactly what you did.”

“We were sitting behind the playhouse and I kissed him on the cheek.”

“Did anything else happen?”

“No. I just kissed him once.”

“Did he ask you to kiss him?”

“No. I just did it.”

At this point I recalled a conversation I had had with my mother thirty-two years earlier. I asked her what sex was and she told me, “It’s when mommies and daddies kiss a lot.” By this definition, Lana hadn’t had sex as she only kissed Robbie once. Anyway, I figured that she probably had a similar conversation with her mother. I explained that kissing was inappropriate behaviour and she assured me that it would not happen again.

I checked with Robbie to make sure he wasn’t telling people he had been raped.

That was twenty years ago. Lana is now the mother of a little boy. I think it is safe to say that, at some point, she figured out that there was more to sex than kissing.

Follow W5education.wordpress.com for more stories every Wednesday and Friday.

Leave a Reply

