Simply Awesome

Simply Awesome

A while back we were in a restaurant. After I placed my order the waitress responded with, “Excellent”. I didn’t know if I had ordered an excellent meal or if I did so in an excellent manner, but it was nice to know that I had achieved something at a high standard.

After my wife placed her order the response was, “Perfect”. Wow – perfect is better than excellent, right? I was then wondering where I had fallen short in my ordering of my meal.

Of course, I am being sardonic and drawing attention to the watering-down and over use of such terms. It reminded me of a conversation I had a few years ago with a former student. I know this fellow really well and I knew he would not be offended with the direction in which I took the conversation.

I forget exactly what we were talking about but it had something to do with a project I was working on. He responded with, “That’s awesome”.

Awesome, really?”

Yeah, that’s awesome.”

Let me ask you a question. If that is awesome, then how would you describe the following experience? It is sunrise and you are seated in a glider. Not a sound is being heard, and you are flying over the city of Agra, India. The sun is behind you and its light is being reflected toward you off of the shimmering, white marble of the Taj Mahal, behind which is the bluest of skies. How would you describe that?

Oh, that would be f**king awesome.”

There you go.

So the next time I order a meal, I will not be aiming for perfect, I want the waitress to say, “F**king perfect”.

Follow W5education.wordpress.com for more stories every week.

Follow W5education.wordpress.com for more stories every week.

Leave a Reply

