The B in the BLT

The B in the BLT

This happened a few years ago. I had a meeting in the city so rushed into town after classes ended. That same night, my wife and I had tickets for a show at the theatre.

Following my meeting I went to pick up my wife. I hadn’t had supper so decided to stop at a Tim Horton’s*** for a sandwich. I called to ask my wife if she too wanted something picked up – she declined, so I was shopping for myself.

Fortunately, there was no line-up; in fact, there were few patrons. I told the young lady behind the counter that I just wanted a BLT sandwich – no coffee, no doughnut – just the sandwich. She accepted payment then moved to the sandwich preparation area. She put on her special sandwich making gloves.

I was hungry.

Young lady, I would like you to make this sandwich as if you are making it for yourself.”

She said, “OK”, and went about her business. I was so looking forward to this meal.

AS she was finishing the sandwich she looked up at me and said, “Would you like bacon on your sandwich?”

Bacon? Of course I want bacon. I want the B in the BLT. That’s what it’s all about.”

She pointed to herself and said, “But I don’t eat bacon.”

She had me there.

Forget what I said. You are now making it for me.”

She gave me extra bacon. It was delicious.

*** Please note, I opted to put an apostrophe in the name, Tim Hortons. There was only one Tim Horton (Canadian hockey player) and, technically, the name of the business should be Tim Horton’s Coffee Shop. For branding purposes, the owners opted to drop the apostrophe. I suspect they did not have the endorsement of language arts teachers.

Follow W5education.wordpress.com for more stories every week.

One thought on “The B in the BLT

Leave a Reply

