Rugby Tour #1

I’d like to take a moment to salute Nancy Estey. When I first met Nancy, she was the principal of Dr. A. T. Leatherbarrow Primary. I was a high school teach with two pre-school children, and I was curious to know how science was taught at the elementary level. That question led me down a very interesting road, and six years later I became a grade 2 teacher and the vice-principal of Leatherbarrow (after 13 years of teaching high school sciences). Nancy was my keenest cheerleader during that process. Thanks, Nancy, for your support, encouragement and belief.

Rugby Tour #1

First, a bit of background:

  • In 1987, the Canadian $1 paper bill was replaced by a gold coloured coin.
  • That coin is nicknamed the loonie due to the fact that a loon is pictured on the back.
  • I coached high school rugby in four different schools and every year, except for my first year in Newfoundland, I took the team on a tour.
  • Please note, technically I did not tell a lie in this story.

In May 1991, Ross Henderson and I took the KVHS Rugby Club to Prince Edward Island for a tournament. We stayed in a motel and enjoyed two days of rugby. Prior to our departure, I suggested to Ross, and he agreed, that we play a trick on the boys during our return home.

We were travelling with two, 15-passenger vans. When we drove off the ferry from Prince Edward Island I was driving the lead van with Ross following. We later came to a long stretch of road on which I could neither see any traffic behind us nor in the on-coming lane. We were travelling at approximately 100 km/hour (60 MPH). At this point, I put on the brakes and pulled over to the side of the road. Ross pulled in behind me. I ignored the questions form the boys as to what the problem was. I jumped out of the van and proceeded to run down the highway in the direction from which we came. I ran back 50 or 60 meters and then proceeded to give the boys the impression that I was looking for something on the shoulder of the road. At this point, I should mention that, just prior to stopping the van, I pull a loonie out of my coat pocket and hid it in my hand. After scanning the side of the road for 10 or 15 seconds I pretended to pick the loonie up off the ground. I then held it in the air and proudly ran back to the vans proclaiming, “I’ve got a loonie. I’ve have a loonie.”

When I climbed back in the van I held my perceived find up for all to see. I then explained that if I see change on the side of the road that I don’t stop for anything less than a dollar.

“There is a difference

between saying, You have

done all you can do and saying,

You have done all you are

willing to do.” -gc



Follow w5education.wordpress.com for more stories every week.

Leave a Reply

